Sherri Hope Culver elected Vice-Chair of GAPMIL International Steering Committee

Oct 23, 2019

Sherri Hope Culver has been elected Vice-Chair of the International Steering Committee (ISC) for the UNESCO Global Alliance on Partnerships for Media and Information Literacy (GAPMIL). GAPMIL represents organizations from over 80 countries working to ensure that all citizens have access to media and information literacy competencies.


A bit more detail about GAPMIL below.


GAPMIL seeks to globally reposition MIL around the core objectives of:

  • Articulating key strategic partnerships to drive MIL development globally and its application to eight key development areas:
  • Enabling the MIL community to speak and address, with a unified voice, certain critical matters, including the need for policies; and
  • Further deepening the strategy for MIL to be treated as a composite concept by providing a common platform for MIL related networks and associations globally that will ensure convergence of regional and international initiative and amplification of global impact.

In consultation with the international agencies (UNESCO, UNAOC, UNICEF and other UN agencies, the Open Society Foundation, IREX, European Commission and international development partners), the ISC coordinates the overall implementation of GAPMIL activities.



  • Jesus Lau (Mexico), Professor, Director of the USBI VER Library, Universidad Veracruzana
  • Alexandre Le Voci Sayad (Brazil), CEO of ZeitGeist; Director of Advisor Consultancy Board of Educamédia Programme



  • Sherri Hope Culver (USA), Associate Professor, Director of the Center for Media and Information Literacy, Temple University,
  • Joanne Plante (Canada), Head of the Libraries Division, City of Laval



  • Lisa Jannicke Hinchliffe (USA), Professor and Coordinator for Information Literacy Services at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Irene Andriopoulou (Greece), Media Literacy Expert, Research, Studies and Educational Programs


Regional Representative for Africa:

  • Wallace Gichunge (Kenya), Executive Director, Centre for Media and Information Literacy


Regional Representative for Arab States:

  • Ahmad Al-Khasawneh (Jordan), Professor, Hashemite University; Director of Center Information, Communication and e-Learning Technology


Regional Representative for Asia-Pacific:

  • Jose Reuben Q. Alagaran II (Philippines), President, Philippine Association for Media and Information Literacy


Regional Representative for Latin America and the Caribbean:

  • Felipe Chibás Ortiz (Cuba), Associate Professor, University of Sao Paulo


Regional Representative for North America and Europe:

  • Tessa Jolls (USA), President, Center for Media Literacy; Founder, Consortium for Media Literacy